Duracell Ratings and Reviews
Learn More At Duracell
Browse ALL-PURPOSE BATTERIES or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Duracell Brand Appliances DURACELL COPPERTOP

Duracell Brand Appliances DURACELL COPPERTOP

Many of the battery-powered devices you use in your home are powered most efficiently by CopperTop batteries. These batteries are available in AA, AAA, C, D, and 9-volt sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
1.788 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
37
11 out of 52(21%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Review 1 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Guranteed to leak

Date:April 15, 2014
jp60173
from Arlington Heights, IL
I do not normally write online reviews but decided to in this case to warn people of the almost 100 percent probability that the Duracell AA or AAA will leak. In browsing thru the existing reviews it is apparent that I am not the only one to have issues with these batteries. The C and D batteries do not seem to have the same problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

What is this.

Date:April 2, 2014
Anonymous
from Eindhoven, NL
I went to buy new batteries, i bought these and NONE of them work!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Absolute junk!

Date:March 21, 2014
Wary1
from San Francisco, CA
Duracell used to guarantee to repair or replace a device damaged by a defective battery, but no more. They will evaluate the consumer complaint, and then make their decision. In other words, no definitive guarantee is provided. I would be wary of these batteries. I have had new batteries leak while still in the package. I have had new batteries read low voltage right out of the package.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Unexpectedly disappointing performance

Date:March 10, 2014
UnhappyinHornepayne
from Hornepayne, Ontario
Duracell restrictions on so called special characters limit my ability to post a properly punctuated review in decent grammar but I shall try anyway. We have happily been using various sizes of Duracell Coppertop alkaline batteries for many years and have never before had any reason to be disappointed with their quality. The other day however our Sony remote control module stopped working and when we opened the battery compartment to replace its two Duracell batteries after about six months of use we found that one of them had leaked causing corrosion damage to both of its battery compartment contacts. This occurred on March ninth in the year two thousand fourteen in spite of the Duracell being labeled with a best before date of March two thousand sixteen. Although I have tried cleaning the affected contacts the remote control module no longer works even with absolutely fresh batteries probably because at least one of the thin connecting wires hidden inside the device has been corroded all the way through. I have had to order a new one at a cost of about fifty dollars Canadian and when it arrives in a few weeks I shall try to send the damaged unit along with the offending battery to Duracell for repair or compensation. It is a sad comment on our times but it seems that a growing number of name brand products with previously excellent reputations are currently suffering a similar decline in quality.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Bought at Christmas 2013 all dead in 2 months...

Date:March 9, 2014
upsetduracelluser
from MD
I bought a 24 pack of AA and used 4 to 6 of them in kids toys for our first born child. Went back to the rest of the pack 2 months later to every single one of them dead with a guarantee of lasting 10 years in storage. This product appears to be failing the consumer across the board and cheaper brands are certainly lasting in storage far better. I just bought another 24 pack after being juiced from the first failed 15 dollar pack to see if maybe it is better but I am skeptical and still feel cheated. Some products suggest using duracell exclusively but now I think we ALL may need to make a change.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Leaking Copper Top Kills Another Flashlight

Date:March 2, 2014
DisappointedUser1234
from Southern California
Just had a maglite flashlight destroyed from leaking Copper Top battery. Just using in non extreme environment. Very diapointing. Third occurane of an issue in lat 8 years. It may be time to try a new brand. I used to excusively use Duracell batteries but not sure this is smart to do anymore.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Dead on Arrival

Date:February 28, 2014
teri
from Mpls, MN
Lately, each large quantity pack of Duracell batteries that I have bought all have at least one completely dead battery. This time it was Ds. Purchased at Sams Club.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Nothing like they used to be

Date:February 20, 2014
bummer
from Denver
I have used Duracell exclusively for 20 years and have not had an issue in the literally thousands that I have used over the years. In just the past three months I have had three devices ruined including a very expensive laser and all three used batteries from different packages. In very poor english I was told the list if things the batteries should not be exposed to and I will not bore you with the details however it seems to me that Earth is a very unsuitable habitat in general for the fragile things. I thought I had a lifetime brand but instead I am pulling them out of anything that I value or that I cannot afford to be without for two and a half months for evaluation to maybe or maybe not be compensated for under warranty and claims. This is a premium priced household alkaline and I was happy to pay the premium for trust but have lost all faith.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Not for hi tech use

Date:February 6, 2014
Notmycupotea
from Arizona
Used in a weather center and Lego Mindstorm products and did not work worth a hoot. It is hard to find a good alkaline battery for Hi tech usage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Leaked

Date:February 1, 2014
kemdawn
I had a AA Duracell battery in my clock. The expiration date was not until 2016 and it was not exposed to unusual conditions but it leaked inside the clock and destroyed the mechanism of the clock.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Junk because of leakage

Date:January 10, 2014
Bunny
from San Francisco, CA
Duracell used to repair or replace devices damaged by a bad battery. Now they apparently do not. I have even had batteries leak in the original packaging.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Leaking Batteries

Date:January 6, 2014
Burned
from USA
I had both a deer camera and a TV remote damaged by leaking Duracell batteries. I used to swear by them but now they are junk.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Leaking Batteries

Date:December 31, 2013
Northernliving
from Northern Michigan
I have 6 batteries in my label printer. 4 were dated Dec 2014 and 2 were Duracells dated March 2014. The unit is stored in my 65F basement. I took it out yesterday and the 2 Duracells had leaked all over. This is the second time in as many months that this has happened. The first time was in an expensive piece of radio control equipment. I dismissed the first time as a fluke, but after the second time, I came to this site to see if there was a problem. Duracell has been my trusted brand for many years. No more. I am done.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

Leakage Terrible

Date:December 30, 2013
JamaicaJoe
from Florida
Yet again I have leakage from a Duracell battery, despite a 2018 expiry date.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

LEAKING BATTERIES DESTROYING DEVICES

Date:December 27, 2013
EnergizerConvert
from Jamaica WI
The Duracell Brand is no longer what it used to be. I have lost several devices because of leaking batteries by Duracell. I no longer use this product and have had no issues with the other leading brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
2  /  5
2  /  5

Sorry to see the poor quality

Date:December 7, 2013
nhhun
from New Hampshire
Duracell has been my go to battery for many. many years but I have just had 3 AAA leak in one of my LED flashlights. They were dated 2015 and not in bad weather. This is the second time I have had a batteries leak in a device. I thought it was me until I happened to start to look at the other reviews. I have many devices that use batteries so the percentage may not be high but I can remember when they would guarantee against leakage. Maybe t is time to look for another brand.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

R2000 damage

Date:September 15, 2013
Jade
from South Africa
Not only do these batteries not last but ALL 4 LEAKED IN BOTH MY MAC MOUSE AND KEYBOARD THAT WILL COST ME R2000 TO REPLACE!!!!!!!! Seriously???? I haven't experienced this with other brands. Take your faulty products off the market please.
You need to provide the option of a zero rating
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
5  /  5
5  /  5

Simply the best

Date:June 28, 2013
simbp215
from Mason, OH
I use these in my TV remote. These are the only batteries that last for at least a year. All other batteries I've tried need replacing every 3 - 4 months.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

_Formerly_ leak free.

Date:April 14, 2013
MikeZ
from New Hampshire
I am sad to report how disappointed I am with the quality of this formerly superior product. Up until 3-5 years ago, I had _NEVER_ experienced a leak from a Duracell battery. I didn't care how much they cost, I didn't care what the competition's performance or warranty was, in my experience Duracell _NEVER_ leaked.
With all the failures I've seen in the last several years, that's clearly changed now, and with a couple recent failures I had decided to start tracking a lengthly list of all the devices I own with batteries, when the batteries were put in the device, and what the 'fresh until' date was. My hope is to minimize the risk of damage due to leakage by replacing batteries long before they are exhausted. I was willing to continue to still consider Duracell BUT, right now I am staring at a package of bulk (40 count) AAs, purchased in the last year or so, labeled 'best before 2022' and 'guaranteed for 10 years in storage' and in it is a battery WHICH HAS ALREADY LEAKED. That's right, a never used battery, labeled "Dec 2022", has already failed. I was about to swap all of these batteries into various devices, but why would I put these batteries in anything?
You would be wise to consider going back to whatever it was you were doing 5+ years ago.
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DURACELL COPPERTOP
Overall Rating: 
1  /  5
1  /  5

dead battery

Date:April 8, 2013
gene
from va
i took a 9 volt battery from the package dated8/17/12 and it wouldnt work checked it and only had 6 volts cant find a complaint department on this sight nice going plus battery should be good till dec 2017 so much for glod top
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>